Anti-Piracy Gang Launches their own Video Download Site to Trap People

Written by Ernesto on July 04, 2007 

Media Defender, a notorious anti piracy gang working for the MPAA, RIAA and several independent media production companies, just launched their very own video upload service called “miivi.com”. The sole purpose of the site is to trap people into uploading copyrighted material, and bust them for doing so.

Tip: Want to download Torrents anonymously? Try TorrentPrivacy, the only way to torrents download securely.

Media Defender is known for their shady tactics. Besides launching video upload services, they also trap people into downloading fake torrents so they can collect IP addresses, and send copyright infringement letters to ISPs.

Fortunately, most of the IPs of these fake BitTorrent trackers are already blocked by blocklist software like PeerGuardian. However, they still manage to collect the IP addresses of thousands of users who do fall for this trap.

And Now they try to do the same with their “fake” video download service. They have registered a new domain and launched a video upload / download site with a web 2.0-ish name: miivi.com. Miivi claims to offer hight speed downloads of blockbuster movies like “300” (don’t download), hereby luring people into downloading copyrighted content.

Apparently the cease and desist letters they send to P2P users and video sharing sites like YouTube and other are not enough. At the bottom of this article is a screenshot of the WHOIS info, it speaks for itself. No matter how wrong ‘piracy’ might seem to some people, this is NOT the way to fight it.

My suggestion is: upload and download as much legal content as you can, titled “THIS SITE IS A SCAM“, let’s see if their servers can handle the stress.

Update: Miivi is down now, seems like the plan worked….

Update: they changed their WHOIS info.

miivi piracy

Previously: OiNK.me.uk is Dead, Long Live OiNK.cd

Next: The Pirate Bay Wants MediaDefender to Walk the Plank to Bankruptcy

112 Responses

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

26 Jul 04, 2007 at 12:52 by Jackson

@Garett, it’s worth checking out all the same. You never know where the trail might lead.

Also: Wonder how Warner Bros and the producers of the movie “300″ will feel on learning that Media Defender is giving away copies of their movie? Imagine files named “300 - The Complementary MediaDefender Version.DivX.avi” spreading all over the net. That’d make Warner Bros. really mad!

27 Jul 04, 2007 at 14:55 by Mapper

Yay! Great work by putting this site down! Once it’s online I’m going to upload lots of stuff, LOTS! :)

28 Jul 04, 2007 at 15:12 by The Dude

Now that they are using godaddy. Why dont we report them to godaddy for illegal activities!?!?!

29 Jul 04, 2007 at 16:10 by demosthenes2010

are they stupid?

when will people learn, you can’t beat techies at their own game!

30 Jul 04, 2007 at 17:39 by joe blow

Sounds like entrapment! Getting you to commit a crime while not actually committing a crime. It would be a tough sell in court.

31 Jul 04, 2007 at 17:55 by Just Me

Court documents list Media Defender as an AGENT of the MPAA, so does their content mean that it is officially being released in this form to the public?

32 Jul 04, 2007 at 20:31 by AF

This is entrapment, BUT, since defending such a claim in court would cost tens of thousands, people will still settle out of court and plead guilty.

33 Jul 05, 2007 at 00:08 by Drake

http://bulletin.hmc.edu/archives/2005/Summer05/randy_saaf98.html

34 Jul 05, 2007 at 00:51 by Jackson

@The Dude: “Now that they are using godaddy. Why dont we report them to godaddy for illegal activities!?!?!”

GoDaddy are very strict on correct ownership title, address, phone number and eMail. They will revoke an account instantly for any of these things being wrong. There are no second chances: They reauction the name. Go to the GoDaddy WHOIS website for the offending domain names. There is a link at the bottom to report them. Click on it, and watch Randy Saaf and his MediaDefender terrrists run for the hills.

@Just: “Court documents list Media Defender as an AGENT of the MPAA, so does their content mean that it is officially being released in this form to the public?”

Seems unlikely Warner Bros would authorize MediaDefender freely giving away copies of the movie 300. If they did authorize it, have they waived their copyright on 300? If so enjoy “300: The Free MediaDefender Edition”

35 Jul 05, 2007 at 00:56 by Jackson

@Drake that’s priceless!!!!! It’s a photo of Randy Saff of MediaDefender who registered the domain name before they changed it to an bogus alias:

http://bulletin.hmc.edu/archives/2005/Summer05/randy_saaf98.html

Better hope this little charade didn’t violate any felonies Andy. Mail Fraud? Piracy? (You did give away copies of Warner Bros movies without their permission!) You’ve certainly broke ICANN regulations. I hope they revoke your domains.

Don’t worry Andy. You might be a slight man with a weasley face, but in prison it is not your face they will be interested in.

36 Jul 05, 2007 at 02:20 by Crafty

How do you add Poaked’s bad tracker list to a IP filter?

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 4 5 » Show All

Responses are closed

All remaining responses will continue to be archived. Use the TorrentFreak forums if you want to discuss something.