Founder of Torrentscan.com has Domain Hijacked
Written by Ernesto on December 01, 2006Mavol, the founder of filesharingplace.com, who is also the owner of the BitTorrent meta-search engine Torrentscan.com got screwed over by his (former) webhost. When he was registering the domain for his site, his sneaky webhost, Ryan Porter quietly registered filesharingplace.com under his own name.
Mavol thought he had registered the filesharingplace.com domain at ExtremeIS in 2003. In reality, he never owned the domain. When Mavol tried to move the domain to another host, his host simply refused to do so, and eventually kicked Mavol off his servers.
Mavol discovered that his webhost, Ryan Porter had registered the filesharingplace.com domain on his own name back in 2003. Probably tempted by the ad revenue, he now decided to take over the site, and kick its rightful owner out.
“FileSharingPlace.com is now in control and operated by one individual: Ryan Porter. There is no group, in fact there isn’t even a single forum moderator,” Mavol told Zeropaid in an interview. Mavol now decided to revive the old community and website at filesharingplace.be.
Porter is now illegally using the forum software which was licensed to Mavol. Mavol contacted the company where he bought the forum software, and they promised to contact the “new owner” of FileSharingPlace.com about this issue.
It is unfortunate to see that all the work that Mavol put in his site over the past three years is being taken away from him by a greedy and selfish webhost: Ryan Porter.
Previously: Interview with the Founder of Opensubtitles
Next: BitTorrent Inc receives $20 Million in Funding





13 Responses
That this may enter the total digital world!
For once I hope that a BitTorrent site gets sued.
You forgot to direct people to http://www.filesharingplace.be/, the one, true FileSharingPlace website.
thanks for the suggestion.
Nice story Big E….. :)
Wow… Thats gotta suck… Sounds like a lawsuit headed Ryan Porter’s way…
Imagine that in court, “He are charged with stealing an illigal website” :S
If Mavol knew how to manage his own domains in the first place it would not have been a problem for him.
A warning message to all BT sites owners .
This is pure bullshit, i know who is Mavol, who OWNS and who’s BEHIND filesharingplace.com, codecguide.com, torrentscan.com, filesharingtalk.com, THE SCAM called K-litecodecpack.com…etc…and the affiliation between all this crap sites.
Please deleted this article, Torrentfreak.com is a RESPECTABLE SITE.
ps. evidently i know more than i should know, if you want more info don’t hesitate to contact me.
Might be time to let them (Ryan Porter) know what you think:
http://www.extremeis.com/contact/index.html
even better:
http://www.extremeis.com/contact/livechat.html
Hopefully with a bit of pressure they’ll hand it back over.
He’s using forum sw that wasn’t licenced to him?
So what? What’s the problem?
Should he pay for sw he just copied? Shared?
Next you’ll want him to pay for movies he downloads…
Lets DDoS the hell out of his servers then. What an arsehole, clearly theft.
1 references to this post
Responses are closed
All remaining responses will continue to be archived. Use the TorrentFreak forums if you want to discuss something.