MPAA Sues Download Scam Sites
Written by Ernesto on June 02, 2006Hollywood’s MPAA (Motion Picture Association of America) has filed lawsuits against 22 web sites it says allow people to download movies without authorization.
The sites - in New York, Delaware, Massachusetts, Florida and Texas - include allmoviedownloads.com; Flixks.net; freedvddirect.com; mykazaa.com; and, unlimiteddownloads.com.
They typically charge a subscription fee of anywhere from $20 for a three month trial, [...]
Hollywood’s MPAA (Motion Picture Association of America) has filed lawsuits against 22 web sites it says allow people to download movies without authorization.
The sites - in New York, Delaware, Massachusetts, Florida and Texas - include allmoviedownloads.com; Flixks.net; freedvddirect.com; mykazaa.com; and, unlimiteddownloads.com.
They typically charge a subscription fee of anywhere from $20 for a three month trial, to $40 for lifetime membership, says the enforcement organization.
“The average movie costs almost $100 million to make and only about 60 percent of those movies recoup their original investment,” says the MPAA, implying file sharers, rather than consistently bad and over-hyped movies, not to mention exorbitant cinema entrance fees, are to blame.
Previously: Piratebay Hoax? A Déjà Vu
Next: Hackers Attack Swedish Police



6 Responses
Make films people want to see, and they will come. But dont come crying saying OH NOES WE ONLY MADE 10 MILLION DOLLARS off this movie! You still made a profit at the end of the day. Maybe if movies were actually decent , like for instance, lucky number sleven, people would pay…
bittorrenters generally dont make money from file sharing. These sites are scum and should be shut down.
Hahaha great closing paragraph! Hit the nail perfectly on the head there with only one sentence!
That’s good that their getting the fake p2p sites out. Some of those site s will say “we have thousands of movies” then when you pay they give you a bittorrent client (which is free) and links to public torrent sites (which are free). It’s all just a scam and takes advantage of filesharing so they can make money.
If it where up to me, whoever profited from these scams would be strung up by their ankles naked and whipped bloody.
http:www.florinho.bravehost.com/
I am soooooo angry I fell for the scam! I signed up when it promised unlimited downloads and then just gave me a bittorrent to download which is illegal…i feel like a fool :(
Responses are closed
All remaining responses will continue to be archived. Use the TorrentFreak forums if you want to discuss something.