Scammers Try to Cash In On OiNK Misery

Written by enigmax on October 26, 2007 

There are always people who are happy to try to cash in on the misery of others. The OiNK shutdown is no different. Sites are appearing thick and fast asking for donations and promising relaunches. None of these are sanctioned by OiNK - don’t give them any money!

Mere hours went by after the OiNK takedown before sites started springing up claiming to be collecting money for OiNK’s legal defense or soliciting donations in connection with a revival of the site.

Some are displaying the amount of donations they have received and these seem sizable in some cases. Although there is no doubt that some generous supporters have already given to these funds, its likely the amounts of donations shown have been inflated to imply that this is the correct fund to donate to.

Fact: NONE of these sites are sanctioned or set up in collaboration with OiNK, so please, please, please - don’t give them your money! This has been confirmed by TorrentFreak directly with OiNK himself.

This means ALL sites claiming to try to raise funds for OiNK should be considered dubious. It’s entirely possible that some good natured individuals are trying to genuinely raise money but it’s impossible to separate the scammers from the tiny minority of honest people.

There may not even be a fund in the end, this hasn’t been decided yet so in the meantime, please keep your money safe.

Potential donors are advised to wait until we make an announcement about the correct fund to donate to. We will do that here on TorrentFreak.

Stay tuned.

Previously: The Pirate Bay To Bring Back OiNK

Next: OiNK Domains Now Point To The Pirate Bay DNS

71 Responses

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 » Show All

26 Oct 27, 2007 at 04:56 by Anonymous

^^ hi-fuckin’-larious, that is.

27 Oct 27, 2007 at 05:05 by oooohlook

nice scam barneys

p.s. you misspelled “countries”

28 Oct 27, 2007 at 06:20 by Anonymous

I hear the money collected is gonna go to the musicians you’ve been ripping off.

29 Oct 27, 2007 at 06:23 by Anonymouse

if you want a good router, get a d-link DIR-655, its a high end home router, its on the expensive side, but it works wonders and its easier than ever to use. i have had problems in the past with torrents due to cheap routers, they wouldnt port forward correctly. if you get a cheap router you can expect it to barely work, and i wouldnt rely on it port forwarding.

30 Oct 27, 2007 at 06:31 by Benett

The SC*AM-Site is http://www.oink.com/donate/donate.html

D*DOS them somebody!

The Official new OiNK is at http://oink.cx.la and will open on November 1. Approved by TooMuchTime himself!

31 Oct 27, 2007 at 06:49 by h8scammers

I know denial of service is never a good answer but someone needs to stop oink.cx.la from existing…

32 Oct 27, 2007 at 07:02 by Milva

I was ripped off when I donated money to oink.cx.la, they stole all my credit card information!

33 Oct 27, 2007 at 07:09 by pundit

[quote comment="197042"]I just donated $20 to oink.cx.la so they can pay their server for the November 1 OiNK-Relaunch. It`s a good cause and Too Much Time has approved them.[/quote]

This is total bullshit. This site is a scam. TMT has not been heard from since the bust and these theives are spamming every forum they can find.

If you really believe that .cx.la is the ressurection of OPP, would it hurt to wait and check it out after the Nov 1 “launch”?

34 Oct 27, 2007 at 07:15 by chris m

this didn’t need to be posted as news.

35 Oct 27, 2007 at 07:29 by chutzpathetic

[quote]I just donated $20 to oink.cx.la so they can pay their server for the November 1 OiNK-Relaunch.[/quote]

You are either the stupidist person in the world or the lying bastard who put up that scam website.

oink.cx.la has SCAM written all over it. No legitimate site could ever keep even a fraction of the many promises that site boldly makes. Chutzpah to the extreme.

I’ll make a prediction: come November 1, insead of the “restored” oink site going online, there will be nothing there but a bunch of lame excuses, and pleas for even more money.

Unfortunately there never seems to be a shortage of suckers. Many of them multiple times over.

It’s funny how the police will completely ignore these scam websites that blatantly rip people off, yet the cops will focus all their time and spend much taxpayer’s money to take down honest P2P sites.

36 Oct 27, 2007 at 07:48 by herman_m

thieves stealing from other thieves. what’s so surprising about that?

37 Oct 27, 2007 at 07:57 by troutmask

so is http://oink.cx.la/ aproved by OiNK or is it a scam?
Can somebody be clear here.

38 Oct 27, 2007 at 08:03 by Greg(USA)

ON TOPIC
This is just another example of how people are greedy fucking bastards.

OFF TOPIC
DJ, you are not a gangster, you’re not going to shoot anyone, so don’t act like you might. Grow up, get your head out of your little intolerant world you live in, and join the rest of us.

39 Oct 27, 2007 at 08:05 by Greg(USA)

Oh, and Herman, we’re thieves but most of us go by some sort of code of honor. That doesn’t include backstabbing each other.

40 Oct 27, 2007 at 08:27 by chutzpathetic

[quote]I just donated $20 to oink.cx.la so they can pay their server for the November 1 OiNK-Relaunch.[/quote]
You are either the stupidist person in the world or the lying bastard who put up that scam website.

oink.cx.la has SCAM written all over it. No legitimate site could ever keep even a fraction of the many promises that site boldly makes. Chutzpah to the extreme.

I\’ll make a prediction: come November 1, insead of the \”restored\” oink site going online, there will be nothing there but a bunch of lame excuses, and pleas for even more money.

Unfortunately there never seems to be a shortage of suckers. Many of them multiple times over.

It\’s funny how the police will completely ignore these scam websites that blatantly rip people off, yet the cops will focus all their time and spend much taxpayer\’s money to take down honest P2P sites.

41 Oct 27, 2007 at 08:31 by enigmax

[quote comment="196923"]Why isn’t anyone outing the urls in question that are asking for donations in oinks name?[/quote]
Because its impossible to keep up with them. ALL sites asking for donations are fake and unauthorized. ALL of them.

42 Oct 27, 2007 at 08:37 by troutmask

“Because its impossible to keep up with them. ALL sites asking for donations are fake and unauthorized. ALL of them.”
so the one posted here as genuine (I note that post now gone) is a scam…but my post questioning it is “awaiting moderation” what is going on?

43 Oct 27, 2007 at 09:24 by thedude

the whole p2p world is up in arms about oink but im not handing money to anyone until I see what was my homepage up again.

You can be traced through paypal, and i dont want to be traced.

i hate to reward off topic but
@Alberich
sounds like a problem i had with my netgear if so http://www.skyuser.co.uk is the answer.

44 Oct 27, 2007 at 09:50 by Bully

Paine recommended a very good article at Demonbaby at his blog. I encourage everybody to read that piece, even if it’s rather long. And don’t forget to digg it!

http://digg.com/music/When_Pigs_Fly_Death_of_OiNK_and_a_brief_history_of_Record_Industry_Suicide

45 Oct 27, 2007 at 09:52 by TooMuchTime

Very interesting.

Why do you keep deleting comments? Reading comments here doesnt make any more sense this way cos replys to the deleted comments still are here.

What about free speech? You want free p2p but yet like the music industry censor and take off comments? LAME.

Besides, everyone can decide for himself if oink dot cx dot la is real or not and the way you keep deleting even any mention of it makes one wonder what motives YOU might have. you get money for boink? you dont want people who are not your friends to run oinkv2?

a lot of questions need to be answered!

46 Oct 27, 2007 at 10:00 by Takashi

There’s nothing on the page that proves they are who they say they are.
what, just because of the color scheme people are to believe?

47 Oct 27, 2007 at 10:04 by taser

Lol@comments

I think tf should do a blog article about Alberich and the problems he’s been having with his netgear router.

It’s sure to be a hit on digg. They’ll digg anything posted onto tf. ;)

48 Oct 27, 2007 at 10:09 by pundit

[quote comment="197169"]Very interesting.

Why do you keep deleting comments? Reading comments here doesnt make any more sense this way cos replys to the deleted comments still are here.

What about free speech? You want free p2p but yet like the music industry censor and take off comments? LAME.

Besides, everyone can decide for himself if oink dot cx dot la is real or not and the way you keep deleting even any mention of it makes one wonder what motives YOU might have. you get money for boink? you dont want people who are not your friends to run oinkv2?

a lot of questions need to be answered![/quote]

My question is why do you oink dot cx dot la fucktards keep spamming these forums?

1. Your site is a scam.

2. You are obviously reading these posts and posts elsewhere

3. to give your scam a veneer of respactability (references to recent developments, names of OPP admins and mods)

49 Oct 27, 2007 at 10:11 by pundit

fuck you- I’m trying to warn people against scammers.

Ban me- I wont be back to your TMZ site of bullshit hearsay.

50 Oct 27, 2007 at 10:45 by Roflcer of the Lawl

I wish I had a site taht was collecting donations.

Pages: « 1 [2] 3 » Show All

Responses are closed

All remaining responses will continue to be archived. Use the TorrentFreak forums if you want to discuss something.