Mininova Wins .com Domain, Takes Down Scammer

Written by Ernesto on April 06, 2007 

Mininova.org has won the transfer of the mininova.com domain in a dispute, and successfully put a scammer out of business. The .com scammer has been a thorn in the side of mininova for a long time. Thousands of people who signed up at mininova.com were charged money without ever receiving something in return.

mininovaEarlier this year mininova.org already claimed the .net domain, which was handed over to them by it’s former owner without any problems. The .com domain was a different story.

The site hosted at the .com domain was a classic example of a phishing scam. Users were charged a fee from their credit card which they were told gave the access to over a million torrents. However, after they paid the fee and attempted to login, the site just redirected to mininova.org. Not surprisingly, the mininova.org team received hundreds of emails from people who fell for this trick and wanted their money back.

Mininova.org was fed up with its fishy counterpart and decided to file a domain dispute. They had a strong case. First of all Mininova.org registered the MININOVA trademark with the Benelux Office of Intellectual Property Trademark. Secondly, the owner of the .com domain registered the domain “in bad faith”. The fact that Mininova.com was merely setup as a phishing scam was an important factor in granting the domain dispute. Here’s a snippet from the decision of the National Arbitration Forum.

Complainant (mininova.org) provided multiple e-mails from Internet users describing their confusion, and describing the failure of Respondent to offer services in exchange for their registration payments. In this way, Respondent (mininova.com) is taking advantage of the confusion of Internet users to attract them to Respondent's website to collect fraudulent registration fees.

However, it is all over now. The National Arbitration Forum concluded that mininova.org established all three elements required under the ICANN Policy

1. mininova.com is identical or confusingly similar to the mininova trademark
2. mininova.com doesn’t have any legitimate interests in respect of the domain name
3. mininova.com was registered and utilized in bad faith.

The .com domain is now transferred to the owner of mininova.org who now owns the .com, .net, .org and the .nl domain. The former owner of the .com domain has 10 days to appeal, after that the transfer will be official. For now just use mininova.org.

Congrats Mininova, one scammer down.

Previously: RIAA vs Infant in Courtroom Drama

Next: Mosts Popular DVDrips on BitTorrent (wk14)

11 Responses

1 Apr 06, 2007 at 14:27 by Heymbit

Cheers! *opens bottle of 15 year old wine* I’ve been saving it for something special!

2 Apr 06, 2007 at 15:11 by Yatti

Yea no doubt, glad to see the .com to where it should be..

3 Apr 06, 2007 at 16:22 by ACoolie

I’m sad to say I am one of the fooled. I didn’t pay any money to the site, but I never have used Mininova because I thought it was this pay site.

4 Apr 06, 2007 at 16:26 by BitLord

Sad to say.. they will most likely appeal because it is worth so much money..

Who knows who will win though..

5 Apr 07, 2007 at 04:06 by Toxicity²

About time.

6 Apr 07, 2007 at 10:45 by Liars

There was the exact same problem back when suprnova was big… one asking for money while the real one was only a .org away…

but honestly you would have to be pretty uneducated to hand over a credit card for a torrent directory.

7 Apr 08, 2007 at 13:07 by Ivan

In WHOIS database owner of domain is still someone from Macao:
http://whois.blokovi.com/index.php?query=mininova.com

8 Oct 04, 2007 at 08:07 by exterra

when u pay for a site u should get on with out problems

9 Nov 08, 2007 at 17:27 by ilovegirls

i don’t get it, why would people pay for this? it’s kinda strange but sadly comforting that people can be this stupid. I never pay for ANYTHING on the net.
Were the duped people ever re-imbursed?

10 Dec 25, 2007 at 22:31 by Anonymous

Do we really want the dumfux who paid money for mininova.com to be a part of this?

11 Jan 11, 2008 at 20:12 by Google

I Think,İt is very nice information…

Hitchhiker Nation

Responses are closed

All remaining responses will continue to be archived. Use the TorrentFreak forums if you want to discuss something.